cyan visionOur Vision

The Best From Arachchikattuwa

cyan missionOur Mission

Conformity with the policies of the goverment providing services efficiently in co- ordinating the resources and proper planning to raise the standard of living of the people.


History of Arachchikattuwa Divisional Secretariat is back to 12th century. As it is mention in chronicles first settlements of this area was developed near ancient Jajjara Nadiya or Deduru Oya and then there are Developments in irrigation and agriculture in nearby area of Rathabala Oya and Sengal Oya. Historical facts of this area are specially reported in chronicles related to Great King Parakramabahu. It is mentioned that both Sinhala and Tamil communities lived together in this area.

This office was established as Arachchikattuwa Divisional Secretariat in 1917 during the period of Puttlam District governor Mr.Punchihewa by renting the house of Mr. Benedict who was an agriculture officer of this area. At that time office staff consists of 05 staff member and Divisional Revenue Officer Mr. John Pereira became first head of the Office.

Then this office which was functioning at the rented house was re- established in a shop which was in the raw of shops in front of Arachchikattuwa Pradeshiya sabha.

Now this office is established in a government owned teak planted land. Front building of the office was built laying the foundation stone in 1964 by former Puttlam District parliamentarian of governing sri lanka freedom party at that time late Mr. S.D.R Jayarathna was opened in 1992.

A breath taking three storied building was now completed. Until now government servants of this office had done their duties with so many difficulties and lack of facilities for the development of the Division.

Divisional Secretaries from the year 1972

Name  From  To 
 Mr.John Perera
 Mr.W.M.Premaratna  1978 1992 
 Mr.N.G.K.Nelumdeniya                  1993  1995
 Mr.W.J.Lowe  1996  1996
 Mr.Arnast Perera  1996  1996
 Mr.N.A.A.Pushpakumara  1996  1997
 Mr.H.M.Somathilaka  1998  2002
 Mr.M.C.Fernando  2003  2006
 Mr.D.Soorasingha  2007
Mr.H.S.S.Lusena 2016.  03.  16
Mr.W.R.A.N.S.Wijayasinghe 2016.  03.  17

News & Events

Development Needs

Development Needs

Development NeedsMost part of the Arachchikattuwa DS...

Scroll To Top